Join INCOSE | Renew | Member Login | FAQs | Contact Us | Site Map  
Logo of International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE)
Home About INCOSE Membership Chapters News &
Products &
Education &
Advancing the
What is Systems Engineering
Strategic Initiatives
Technical Products
Standards Update
Technical Operations
SE Effectiveness Working Group
The purpose of the SE Effectiveness Working Group (SEEWG) is to promote effective systems engineering by collecting and analyzing quantitative data on the impact of specific SE processes and practices on project performance. This data will contribute to the development of a stronger business case for systems engineering.
Chair: Joe Elm; Software Engineering Institute
Co-Chair: Eric Honour; Honourcode, Inc.

Contact SE Effectiveness Working Group for additional information or to join this group.


  • The SEEWG was authorized on 18-Nov-2010
  • A paper was presented at INCOSE IS2011: Elm, Joseph P.; "A study of Systems Engineering Effectiveness: Building a Business Case for SE"
  • Supported data collection for the 2011-2012 NDIA / IEEE-AESS SE Effectiveness Study

Curent Projects

Project 1 – Support of the NDIA / IEEE AESS SE Effectiveness Study

The SEEWG is working with the NDIA Systems Engineering Division and the IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Society to build a business case for Systems Engineering. This study attempts to develop quantitative measures of the impact of specific SE practices on project performance. Initial activities of this study involved surveying the INCOSE membership to collect project data for analysis. Subsequent activities will include the development of an SE Framework and Business Case, and the development of tools, guidance, and training to implement the finding of the study


John Ackley Ron Carson Timothy Dilks
Quoc Do Mick Edwards Bruce Elliot
Joseph Elm Summer Fowler Rick Frazer
Paul Frenz Dawn Gilbert Regina Griego
Heidi Hahn Sandra Hammond Leroy Hanneman
Eric Honour John Howard Carol Hutchinson
Ebad Jahanger Steve Mazeika Ryan McCullough
Paul Miller Bill Miller Joan Nolan
Beth O'Donnell Chris Orlowski Garry Roedler
Nancy Roseberry Jean-Claude Roussel Frank Sciulli
Keiko Shimazu Richard Sidley Dale Smith
Jim Smith Tim Spencer George Walley
Kevin Weinstein


Back to the top Back to the top

Content Owner: SE Effectiveness Working Group | Last Updated: 24 november 2010
Terms of Use | Privacy Statement