New ! Search
Full Menu and site Navigation
A better world through a systems approach

INCOSE Systems Exchange Café - Oak Tree Café

INCOSE Oak SE Cafe

The next Oak café will be on Wednesday 28th September 2022 at 8.00am BST. 

Everyone is welcome

The topic at this meeting will be MBSE (a subject we appear not to have discussed before!).  See below for longer timetable of topics.

On 28th September we will start talking about Model Based Systems Engineering - in particular focusing on
- the purpose of MBSE
- the opportunities it presents
- the barriers and blockers to its implementation and use

This will start with a short reflective round table, and then open into a more general discussion. 
Please come and contribute - especially share your MBSE experiences - good and bad!

On 12th October (the next meeting) the conversation about MBSE will continue - focusing more on how to make use of MBSE, where it sits and contributes to the Systems Engineering process flow and how to extract maximum value from it 

Longer term calendar of Oak cafe meetings [all at 8.00am UK time)
Wed 28th September - MBSE#1 - what is MBSE for? Examples of opportunity and blockers.
Wed 12th October - MBSE#2 - making use, extracting value
Wed 26th October - Case studies - starting with the 1981 Kansas City Hyatt Regency walkway collapse
Note - UK reverts to GMT on 30th October, and meetings will be a 8.00 GMT after this 
Wed 9th November - Systems Thinking - what is it? What is relationship to Systems Engineering?
Wed 23rd November - Professional Development and Career planning for Sytems Engineers
Wed 7th December - Soft System Methodology - discussion of use and usability
Wed 21st December - no meeting
Wed 4th January 2023  - no meeting
Wed 18th January - Future agenda setting for 2023 cafes - and general discussion of case studies 
Wed 1st February - no meeting (clash with IW and Board meeting)
Wed 15th February - start of new timetable 

If you can't make the meeting use the INCOSE yammer (INCOSE members only: Yammer - Feed) and look for the Virtual Community Offerings group and use #OakCafe to make suggestions 

Looking forward to the discussions

 Register for Oak Tree Cafe